take a break.

When I was going through somewhat of a rough patch right at the end of college, my husband used to text me short inspirational quotes that he would make up on the fly daily.  (Yup, he’s pretty awesome).  I typed them up in a word document so I would always remember them.  I just rediscovered this word document the other day.  And this quote jumped out at me.  Such a wise man, that husband of mine.

We spend our lives searching for meaning.  Take a break.  Let it find you.

Dan McCoy

It’s such simple advice.  But it’s something we often forget.  Everyone wants to find meaning in their life.  Everyone wants to know where they fit in the grander scheme of things.  More often than not, we try to force it.  But that’s not the way life works.  Which brings me to another one of my favorite quotes, this one by someone a little bit more well known:

Life is what happens to you while you’re busy making other plans.

John Lennon

No matter how many plans you make. No matter how many lists you make.  Life will work itself out on its own.  And usually where you end up is someplace entirely different than you originally thought you would.

If you told me I would be a social entrepreneur even two years ago, I never would have believed you.  I didn’t set out on a path to launch a social enterprise.  But somehow that path found me.  And here I am coming up on our one year anniversary.

Who knows where I’ll end up next.  But instead of dwelling on it, I’m just going to sit back and enjoy the ride.

Leave a Reply

